Welcome to The Green Scene!


A Tutorial on a Tuesday :: Modern Flowers by Laura
March 31, 2009, 10:24 am
Filed under: Do-ables / Tutorials

I confess: I’m a lazy crafter…I’m also a busy lady, so in my head, being a lazy crafter is okay. But sometimes I actually want to start and finish a project within a reasonable amount of time, and relax doing something creative.

Recently, I keep mulling over a handful of “make your own paper flowers” tutorials – mainly this one drew me into wanting to make some of my own. I wanted to simplify things, and of course, to make it green.

I even saw some cute ones yesterday, after I engineered my own, and I think they’re just as easy and cool as mine (ok, maybe not as cool, lol). Download the Paper Irises PDF here.

BUT, I conquered the project, and put together some photos (by moi) and a short little tutorial. I did not get down and detailed, since there is a load of room for creative license.

6This shows you what is possible, and what my result is…please use as much creativity as possible, and make it your own masterpiece! Click on any of the photos for a larger image.

8Step 1: Find/Acquire a vase. I pulled a vase outta my collection, look around for those free ones that come with flowers you receive, OR I found a handful of nice long vases with skinny necks at Ikea- that’s where mine came from (I got it for another flower set that didn’t fit in it). They range from $0.79 and up. I do highly recommend recycling or reusing something you already have.

Step 2: Get some “stems”. I got some of those fun curly sticks from a craft store for $3. I am in Florida, so I don’t have cool sticks laying around the yard, but feel encouraged to look around your yard, at work, what-have-you. This is where you’re creativity can “bloom” – fit it to your own style.

Step 3: Find your flower materials. I obviously was obsessing over this tutorial, so I had my mind on it for a week or more. (me? obsess? never!) But look around, look at your junk mail, your little scraps of craft paper, wrapping paper, product packaging, anything that would or could end up in the trash pile. I used some of my craft paper scraps, some junk mail postcards, and a cool packaging from some gadget my boyfriend bought. I suggest more sturdy materials, but the light thin papers go well sandwiched in between a few harder papers – and gives it a nice dainty floral look.

Step 4: Download my handy PDF. This has all of the modern floral shapes already drawn out, so you can trace away!

Step 5: Trace, cut, trim… Make as many as you want/need. I used about 3 shapes per flower, but feel free to use less or more. I even used some of the same shape, just rotated them around, and bent them differently.

Step 6: Pair the flower shapes together. I went with coordinating colors, but it would also be gorgeous with all of the same color paper. This is, again, where your creativity “blooms”. tee hee. Once you have these paired, use the end of your scissors or a small pointy object (a protractor, possibly) and poke a very small hole in the middle of each piece.

Step 7: Meet Brad. I picked up a tiny pack of 100 itty bitty brads for about $3 at a craft store, varied colors, have fun picking them out – or use what you have around. (Trust me, get a few extra, a few went flying and a few went missing) Run the brad through all of the flower shapes, and expand the 2 “legs” out, so it keeps them together. Once you have this done, wrap them around the “limb” or stick you want it on in your arrangement.

Step 8: Arrange your flowers. Only once you get the flower on the stem/limb will you be able to effectively play with your flowers. Getting them on the stem manhandles the flower a little, so it goes flat. Once you have it secured, curl the edges, bend them up or down – whatever the material responds to, and looks good. I just curled mine with my finger and bent the inner parts up.

Step 9: Step back and enjoy! How easy was that?

Here are some close-ups of my flowers, to give you ideas on how to make yours!

54321

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Very cool! This turned out great!

Comment by Meghan

I love the way these turned out! I’m posting a recycling flower craft on my blog, and will include a link here. Yours are much more sophisticated than the ones my daughters made. 😉

Comment by Devona

[…] I always like to do, I found another blog with a similar project posted. The Green Scene has a tutorial today showing how she made paper flowers using her junk mail. This is probably on my […]

Pingback by Spring Flowers Blooming | Clever Nesting

[…] April 1, 2009, 11:33 am Filed under: General Posts I’m very happy to say that my recent Flower Tutorial has been mentioned on the Clever Nesting […]

Pingback by The Green Scene on Clever Nesting « Welcome to The Green Scene!

[…] try my Modern Flowers tutorial! 0 Comments No Comments so far Leave a comment RSS feed for comments on this post. […]

Pingback by Happy Mother’s Day :: Have you crafted for your mom yet? « Welcome to The Green Scene!




Leave a Reply

