Welcome to The Green Scene!


Thrifty Thursday :: Stop & Smell the Pencils! by Laura
July 30, 2009, 7:30 am
Filed under: Thrifty Thursdays

I have another confession to make, along with my obsession with plate sets, I LOVE school supplies. I wish I could buy school supplies every year, and outfit a dorm room every year, but alas, it’s been about 8 years since I was academically challenged.

I recently got rid of a garbage bag worth of school supplies I was hoarding before our move into the house, to a few deserving kids – it was hard to say goodbye!

So, to ease my pain of not buying myself silly in the stores, I have found a literal TON of great eco-friendly school supplies.

Green Apple Earth-Friendly School Supply offers conscientious consumers a place where they can buy a variety of school and office supplies that are made of either recycled, reclaimed, or managed forest products.

The Daily Green has a handful of great images and a list of resources for school supplies ranging from bags to Odds-N-Ends, some featured in the links below, but a nice review.

Smencils, pencils that are Eco-Friendly AND smell delicious! They’re made from 100% recycled newspapers. I can still smell the odd not-so-chocolatey brown marker I used to have.

Reusable Bags website has a bunch of links for big eco-brands like SIGG and EnviroSaks, even a great product called Wrap-N-Mat, great for school lunches.

Recycled Stainless Steel Scissors, anyone? Check out Amazon.

Sustainable Group has a handy website for “ReBinders” and a pile of handy office supplies for any student or office-type.

TreeSmart Group has a handful of great eco-friendly products, from pens and pencils to custom imprinted recycled newspaper pencils.

ForestChoice has tickled my pencil fancy, with cool pencils and colored pencils. ForestChoice certified pencils are the first pencil products in North America to be manufactured from Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) certified Incense-cedar.

More pencils, you say? How about Recycled Jeans pencils from Green Earth Office Supply.

I’ve had my eye on a Staple Free Stapler for work, I might just have to cave ; ) – there’s also a slighty cheaper one in black, or multiple colors, or my favorite: the doggie and kittie.

Want to make paper clip jewelry? Try these recycled steel paper clips from GreenLine, or their hundreds of other eco-friendly items.

Everyone needs a ruler! Check out this Recycled Money Ruler or any of the other fun items GreenRaising offers.

Index Cards were a slight addiction of mine, I always had the best intention of organizing. Check out GreenLine Paper’s recycled index cards.

I’ve also noticed, been informed and viewed online all of the fun and economical eco-friendly paper options Target has. Check out their Recycled Paper Products line.

Which leads me to end with, Elephant Poo Poo Paper. Why, yes, they have thought of everything. Check it out, it’s worth a look and would be fun to share at school!

Happy Shopping!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

