Welcome to The Green Scene!


Meghan Monday: Paper, paper, & more paper by Meghan
August 3, 2009, 8:52 am
Filed under: Meghan Mondays!

Sasquatch_comp_KhakiI planned on making today’s post about the wonderful GREEN products that I came across during the CHA Trade show this past week, but two things got in the way.

1. I didn’t really see any NEW green products during the trade show. I’ve posted before about paper manufacturers that have gone green lately, and I definitely saw their products, but I didn’t see anything new. Bummer.

2. I’m so tired from the past week that I can barely function. It was an amazing week, but I’m definitely dragging today.

So I was very happy when I got the Walmart ad in the mail on Thursday. Normally the Walmart ad ends up getting tossed with most of the other ads, but since its almost back to school time and I LOVE school supplies, I decided to check it out. Thank goodness I did! They had a whole page about the green/recycled school supplies that they are carrying this year.

This year Walmart is carrying a line of school supplies called Sasquatch. These products are made from mostly recycled paper. Each design even contains a hidden Sasquatch, living the green live and leaving nothing but tracks. According to their website,Sasquatch™ Brand products use less virgin wood products. They are made of mostly recycled paper. This means fewer trees are cut down and less water and fossil fuels are used during processing. This helps reduce air and water pollution and helps protect wildlife from harmful chemicals and habitat changes.”
They’ve got composition books, notebooks, dividers, pencil pouches, and folders – all in various shades of blues and greens.

So at least when you have to hit up the stores in the coming weeks for school supplies, you can pick up a few green supplies to make yourself feel a little bit better about things.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

