Welcome to The Green Scene!


Meghan Monday: Scrap Crafts by Meghan
August 17, 2009, 7:16 am
Filed under: Do-ables / Tutorials, Meghan Mondays!, Projects

scrap card 1I’ve mentioned before that I love making cards from paper scraps. As I was searching for something last week, I came across a packet from a class that I took at CKC over 2 years ago. In that pack was scraps from the journal project that we worked on. None of the scraps were really that big, but since I needed to make a birthday card for my grandpa I left them out. When I finally sat down to make the cards I got so inspired by the first 1 that I ended up making 5! Since all of the paper was double sided I was able to get a lot of looks out of just a few sheets of paper.

So how do I make these cards?

Well its pretty easy. I usually start with premade cards that are 4.25″ x 5.5.” They are just a nice size for cards. Then I cut three strips of paper that go together – the bottom one is around 1.5″, the middle is about 2″ and the top is 1″ or less. Of course all these measurements depend on how much paper I actually have. The bottom two strips I just glue down, but the top one I usually use one of my Fiskars Border punches on to give it a little flair. I use my Fiskars squeeze punches to make a medallion, or in the case of a few of these cards a flower, to add between the bottom and middle strips.

Depending on what papers and punches you use, you can make a variety of cards. So next time you have some scraps left over from a project, go ahead and try to make a few cards. Its a great way to be green and it will give you a stash of cards just sitting around for the next time you need one (or 5).

scrap card 2

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Great idea! I save my scrap paper to make card backgrounds from… just cut it into equal-width strips and then collage away. I like diagonal stripes the best. I’ll do a whole bunch at once and put them in a box until I feel inspired to finish them off.

Comment by kajikit




Leave a Reply

