Welcome to The Green Scene!


Waggin’ Wednesday :: Halo Pets Dog Food by Laura
August 20, 2009, 9:10 am
Filed under: Waggin' Wednesdays

Sorry for the delay, things got crazy at work, and completely forgot to post my Waggin’ Wednesday.

I wanted to do a little review of a dog food company, Halo Pets, who offers natural holistic food for dogs and cats. There’s so many selling points to this food, and I also recently realized that the co-owner of the company is Ellen Degeneres. The dry dog food Isabelle has tried, Spots Stew Salmon, is:

  • Always highly digestible
  • Always high in protein, low in carbs
  • Always made with the highest quality ingredients
  • Always created with your pet’s entire well-being in mind
  • Never contains artificial colors, flavors or preservatives
  • Never contains rendered meat, poultry or fish, animal or plant meals
  • Never contains corn, wheat or wheat gluten

She gets a sick stomach very easily, she can’t handle any “people food” and tends to get into things she shouldn’t – so I was keeping an eye out for  good, natural food that would help her weirdly weak stomach.

As soon as I started rustling the bag to get it open, she was all over me trying to get into the bag too. Once I tore it open, she almost knocked me down on my way to her bowl. She devoured the food and enjoyed every last bit. Now, I do have to tell you her normal eating habits before you say, hey dogs are like that, she tends to graze, slowly eating throughout her day and night, really no major meal per se – so this was a big change for her. The second meal was pretty much the same way, and it’s been that way ever since. I did switch up her normal dog food from the store inbetween, and she went back to her grazing, even seemed to turn her nose up at it.

Although I debate buying this on a regular basis, since it is more expensive than the humongous bag we buy from the store, I would definitely look at choosing Halo Pet Food as a choice for your pet. If you sign up for their newsletter, they send you a $5 coupon towards your purchase. Also, check out their Limited Time Specials – that’s where I picked up some good deals for the dog and cat.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

