Welcome to The Green Scene!


How to Clean Silver :: Without Any Nasty Chemicals by Laura
March 25, 2011, 3:38 pm
Filed under: Do-ables / Tutorials, Product Reviews, Projects

One of the items I keep an eye out for when I visit thrift stores is silver platters and interesting pieces for my wedding. They’ll either be nice to keep after the event, or they will sell for either the price I paid or more. It’s a win-win. The thing about buying silver from thrift stores? The tarnish and not-so-great quality of the product. So, I set out to clean these super tarnished pieces.

I recently did some research on ways to clean silver while not using any harsh chemicals, pain in the ass products, or spending a bunch of money. As you can see by the piece on the left, I had to get something that worked, and worked well. My first research result? Make a baking soda and water paste and rub, rub, rub. This method barely touched the surface of the tarnish I had…my hopes for an eco-friendly home remedy were shrinking.

So when I found this latest method, I was a little wary. It called for a pinch of salt, some baking soda, boiling water, and some foil. Well…I can say this method is AWESOME. It works like magic…black magic, I tell ya. I took some photos of the process, so everyone could see the difference…and how magical this really is. The tarnish actually grabs ahold of the foil, so make sure you don’t skip that step!

Click on the images to enlarge them.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

